The End is Near

I’m not talking about the end of the world. I’m talking about the end of Camp NaNo. Wednesday is the last day, and I’m not ready. I need a few more days to get my word count up. Oh, why didn’t I start earlier?

Does this sound familiar? Who else needs a few more days to get their word count up? Who wouldn’t finish it even if they did have a few more days? Is anyone tempted to revise their word count goal so that they can make it?

My goal is only 10,000, which is the least you can have, so that’s not an option for me. Would I if I could? I don’t know. Maybe. I have changed what I was working on three times this month, before finally deciding on what I was definitely going to do. Did I wait too late?

Everything was going fine until yesterday. I had a day when I simply couldn’t write at all. That wouldn’t be so bad if I had started at the beginning of the month, but I didn’t. It’s a good thing what I am writing doesn’t have to make sense, because it doesn’t.

I know I’m not the only one who starts late, although it sometimes feels like it. Most people who quit start at the beginning of the month and fizzle out. I do just the opposite. I don’t know why. I just do.

I get frustrated when people say you have to write every single day if you want to be a writer. You don’t. You just have to write. Taking a few days off, from time to time, won’t keep a person from being a writer. It seems magnified when it happens during noveling month. I don’t ever write every day of a month. It just isn’t possible for me. My head won’t let me.

I can’t pretend to speak for anyone else. I only know what is true for me. The truth is, I have never once believed I could finish a novel in a month, and I have done it twice now. It wasn’t good. It was filled with a lot of drivel. But it was written.

Now that the month is almost over, I find myself, once again, stressing about finishing.

So why do I do this to myself? I can’t help it. I’m a writer.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized, Writing

Leave a Reply

