My Motivation Went Bye-Bye

Did you ever have one of those days when you just didn’t feel like writing? Of course you have. We all have. Well, today was one of those days for me. It was hard to attach my butt to that chair and get the fingers and brain working together. There was something else I wanted to do more.

It’s good to have more than one hobby, but when one makes you feel guilty for not doing it that day, you have to wonder if you are addicted. I don’t have to ask. I know I am addicted. I have been most of my life. It’s a habit I can’t break, nor would I want to. It makes me feel as if I have accomplished something when I see the words in front of me. They are my babies. I have created something.

Still, I managed to sit down long enough to write this. Will I write anything else? I have to. I have a letter that needs to go out Monday. I promised my cousin and it is already later than I intended to send it. I forgot that yesterday was a holiday and, when I remembered, I put off writing it until today. Procrastination is one of my bad habits, but I can break it. I know I can.

How do I go about getting motivated? I can’t always. When I do, it is usually because I have parked said butt in front of the computer and started writing whatever comes to mind, even if it has nothing to do with what I intended to write. Sometimes, that is enough to get me motivated. Other times it isn’t.

Still other times, I can’t seem to make it to the computer at all. My body feels like it is glued to whatever place it happens to be at that moment. Yes, I can be lazy. Is that always bad? I hope not, because I think I would get burned out if I wasn’t lazy from time to time.

One thing that keeps me writing this month is the fact that what I am doing is only for a month. I have a goal.  I can see an end.  Sometimes, that’s all it takes.

So, what are you waiting for? Attach that butt to the chair and start writing. It doesn’t have to be great. It doesn’t even have to make sense. But it does need to be written!

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

