Two Weeks In

Has it been two weeks already? How time flies when you are on a deadline. At least, it’s that way for me.

Right now, I’m scheduled to finish on July 21st. That’s pretty good. However, I keep thinking it isn’t all that great because I only set my goal at 10,000. I have to keep reminding myself. I set my goal at 10,000! Wow. That’s a lot of words. And I’m on pace to meet it.

During most of the NaNos I have participated in, I have been way behind at this point and had to scramble to catch up. It feels good to see a number that says I’m not behind at almost the midway point for a change. How can I handle so much fortune?

I’m not going to change my goal. 10,000 was good when I set it and it still is. Even if I exceed it, there is no reason to change it. I don’t like constantly changing my goals to something higher. Sometimes, the original goal is enough. If I decide I want to do more than that, that’s fine, too. I just don’t want to feel like I have to do more just because I reached my goal early.

A lot of people in camp are changing their goals either up or down. The ones who are changing them down appear to mainly think they are somehow failing. They aren’t. They are just being more realistic about their goals. Just because Lindsay hits 125,000 in one month doesn’t mean Kate has to. If I want to go for 50,000, I will. It’s not a competition.

I know that there are word wars during the month and people treat them as competitions. They are friendly competitions at worst. I have done some in the past and I used them as motivators. They can be whatever you make of them.

Don’t stress out over whether you make your goal or not. I was doing that the two NaNos I participated in and they were not nearly as much fun as the camps that I haven’t stressed over. Why do something you don’t have to if it isn’t fun?

I’m still not sure if I will finish my story this month. I have been doing other things, not just writing my story. I like to have something to fall back on when I can’t get into one of the things I am writing.

I know, I know. You are supposed to finish one thing before starting another. But that doesn’t work for me. If I keep working on something to the point I just can’t do anymore, I will stop writing completely if I don’t have anything to fall back on. That’s when the guilt starts. The guilt makes it harder for me to start back writing. I can’t get past the guilt if I don’t write.

I hope everyone is having fun with their writing. I know I am. However much you have written, be proud. That’s that much that wasn’t written at the beginning of the month. Have fun meditating on that.

1 Comment

Filed under Writing

One response to “Two Weeks In

  1. I didn’t even realize you COULD change your goal. Happy camping/writing.

Leave a Reply

