Almost There

Within 24 hours, I should have met my goal. I will then see just how far I can go past it. Will I be able to get double the amount written that I have as a goal? Who knows? I will see where I end up.

How I do at the end of this camp should give me an idea of what I need to do for next camp. My goal for November is clear; write 50,000 words while helping my cousin with the NEDA (National Eating Disorders Association) walk. Wouldn’t you know they came the same month? Anyway, I can do both successfully. Oh, and write this blog as well.

I want a more leisurely pace during camp. I might increase my goal to 20,000 for next camp, but you can be sure it won’t be 50,000. I have to enjoy the outdoors sometime.

My cabin isn’t on schedule to finish until September 10. Four of our campers haven’t uploaded a word count at all. One left for actual camp without making her goal, one other is on track to finish this month, and the rest are way behind. Yet, we are all winners. Why? Because we took on the challenge. Because we tried.

How many in my cabin are waiting until the last day to put in their word count, or the last week to even get started? Is that word count accurate? Who cares? We are accomplishing something!

As your word count grows this month, take time to reflect on how your writing has grown as well. Are you the same writer you were at the beginning of the month, or have you matured. I know I mature every time I do one of these. Even the camp I didn’t meet my goal I matured. Perhaps I matured then more than the times I did, because I didn’t give up. I kept on keeping on.

In the end, that’s all we can do. Put pen to paper or fingers to keyboard and keep keeping on. There are stories at our fingertips, just waiting to be born. So go forth and give birth. And have fun doing it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

