Are You Confident?

That’s it. I’m officially out of words. Who else feels this way?

I guess that means I’ll have to recycle some. As long as I recycle them in a different order, it should be okay. I repeat myself too much as it is.

Blah blah blah. Blah blah blah blah blah. That is what my writing sounds like to me at times. I can only hope it doesn’t sound that way to others. That is, if others will even bother to read it. Who would want to read my words?

These are mindsets I need to get past. It is just so hard. How do you get past lack of confidence? By being around encouraging people? By making a point of being positive even when those around you are negative?

I think it is a little of both. You have to surround yourself with as many encouraging people as possible and as few negative people as possible. It is impossible to have all positive people, but you should have as many as you can. When possible, sever ties with those who refuse to be anything except negative. You don’t need that in your life.

As writers, we have another option to help us through these times. Write it out. Yes, writing out feeling out is fine, but we can also work them out through our characters. Put a bit of yourself in your characters. Bleed onto the page. Your writing will be the better for it.

Lack of confidence will not go away overnight. I know. I have been fighting it all of my life, and it is just now getting better. I will probably fight it for the rest of my life. The trick is not to feel confident and do it anyway.

Now, if I can just convince myself to do that.

1 Comment

Filed under Writing

One response to “Are You Confident?

  1. ‘Put a bit of yourself in your characters. Bleed onto the page. Your writing will be the better for it.’ Love, love, LOVE these sentences. 🙂

Leave a Reply

