Why Write?

What made you want to write?

I have heard that question so many times, and I still don’t have an answer. You see, I don’t remember ever not wanting to write. Who inspired me? Dr. Seuss, I guess.

Surely I am not the only person who can’t remember a time when they didn’t want to write. I think I was born with a pen in my hand and a million stories in my head. I just had to grow enough to start writing them down.

Does that sound like you? Don’t worry. Always wanting to do something isn’t wrong. It just means we knew what we were meant to do from an early age. Most people aren’t that lucky.

I remember when I was in college, I would dream of getting locked in the library overnight. I could go down the aisles and touch books and feel a sense of wonder. I wonder where that has gone.

For a while, I was depressed and didn’t feel anything. I knew I had to write, but I didn’t feel the same excitement. Now that I’m no longer depressed, the excitement is coming back. I find myself dreaming about going to the library.

When did I start feeling this way around books? Again, I can’t remember a time, other than when I was depressed, that I didn’t feel that way about books. There is just something magical about them, and I’m not talking Harry Potter magical. Almost anyone can join in this magic. All it needs is an ability to suspend your disbelief. Even muggles can do that.

The next time someone asks me that, I think I’ll ask them what made them want to breathe? It’s the same thing to me. I could no more not write than not breathe. If I were to cease to write, I would cease to exist. How about you?

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

