You Are An Inspiration

Did you know you were an inspiration? Yes, you are! Just ask Lilo Abernathy, author of The Light Who Shines. No, her book wasn’t written during NaNo, but NaNo was an inspiration. She says “I was hesitant about my ability to write. But when I saw that with NaNo regular people were writing a book in a month, I said ‘Hey, I can write a book!’ It gave me the confidence to go forward.”
Yes, that’s us. Regular people. You don’t have to be Superman or Wonder Woman to write a book in a month. You just have to be persistent. You have to be willing to give up a social life. You have to write, write, and write some more. You have to write until your fingers hurt. You have to write until you can no longer stay awake. You have to write until you can’t write anymore.
What does all of this get you? Well, it gave Ms. Abernathy the confidence to write a novel which is going to be a Kindle Daily Deal on Amazon tomorrow, the 20th. You might not get to have a Kindle Daily Deal, but that doesn’t mean you can’t reach your potential. You just have to believe in yourself. That is one of the main goals of NaNo – to give you the confidence to take that first step and then another, and another, and another, until you have done what you set out to do. You might even find that you can do more than you ever imagined.
I haved decided I am starting today and seeing how far I can get in my novel by the end of the month. Whatever it is, it will be that much more than I had at the beginning of the month. Will I win NaNo for the third year? I don’t know, but I will still be a winner. Why? Because I tried. So many people are afraid to try. They are afraid of failing.
Thomas Edison failed 1000 times before inventing the light bulb. It might take 1000 submissions before someone finally accepts something you wrote. You might publish it yourself. Just don’t give up. As my grandfather used to say “Old I can’t never could do nothing.” My grandfather was a smart man.
Do people think you’re nuts? Great. You have to be nuts to try something like this. People who are not a little nuts are boring. I don’t want to be boring, do you?
So, what do you say? Can I do it? Feel free to cheer me on. I will be happy to return the favor.

2 Comments

Filed under Writing

2 responses to “You Are An Inspiration

  1. It is all true. I hadn’t picked up a pen (or keyboard) to write a creative piece in over 20 years. Before I started writing The Light Who Shines, the last time I’d written a create piece was a short story in college. (I’m 43 years old now.) That is how fresh I was. I wasn’t a closet writer who had been practicing for years. I just picked up my laptop and said, “I’m going to write a novel.” And then I did.

    Sure I had to do six serious major revisions, followed by a cutting round and proof. Sure I am Indie and never even attempted to get my book published by a traditional publisher. But here I am 10 months after publishing, with 4.7 stars and over 154 reviews and Amazon is featuring my book in a Kindle Daily Deal tomorrow. And you know what? By the end of tomorrow my book just might be an Amazon #1 best seller. If not, I bet it gets close because I have a whole passel of people I’ve met along the way supporting me.

    So yes, you are an inspiration because people like you made me believe I could do it. And yes, you can do it too.

    Lilo Abernathy

  2. Love this and I’m super happy you decided to write your novel this month after all. I have no doubt that you will do it, because my dear, once you set your mind to something it gets done. 🙂

Leave a Reply

