April Fools (That’s Us)

It’s here again. April. Camp NaNo. No, this is not an April fool’s joke. This is for real.

Are you ready? Do you have pen in hand or the computer booted up to kick off that novel that is within you? Or are you doing something else this camp? I am doing the final edit on my 2011 NaNo novel. Yes, I wrote a novel in a month. No, it wasn’t fit to read.

Several rewrites and edits later and it is finally almost ready to send out to my beta readers.  This month is the perfect time to set a deadline to send it out. NaNo is all about deadlines, whether it is the original NaNo, or the camp version.

One good thing about camp NaNo is the ability to set your own word count goals. I set mine at 10,000. I figure I can do that writing this blog and my violin blog. Then, I can revise and edit to my heart’s content and still make my goal.

How do I intend to reward myself at the end of the month? By sending out the draft to the beta readers. After having worked on it for over three years, I am going to jump for joy when that happens. My mother will think I have lost my mind. My neighbors will be sure I have.

The first thing I need to do is print out a hard copy of my novel to make notes on. By the time this month is over, it might be as much as 5,000 words lighter. That’s okay. I’m going the self-publishing route, so there is nothing that says my novel can’t be 45,000 words instead of 50,000.

I wish professional writing organizations considered self-published writers as worthy of being considered writers. Some of them have a list of publishing companies. If you haven’t published with one of them, you aren’t considered a professional writer. Well, I say “pffft” to them. I can do just fine without them. And I will.

In time, self-publishing will be accepted as professional writing. In the meantime, write on. They probably don’t think you can write a novel in a month, either. At the end of the month, let’s all hold up our manuscripts and give them a huge “Na Na Na Na Na.”

Ready. Set. Write.

Leave a comment

Filed under Camp NaNo, NaNo, Writing

Leave a Reply

